Merge Classes in QuickBooks: How to Merge Two Classes in QuickBooks Online & Desktop?

Merge Classes in QuickBooks: How to Merge Two Classes in QuickBooks Online & Desktop?

When you combine two classes, it will merge the transactions and information that are classified by using it. If required, you can make the class inactive in spite of the fact that it is the last class you have created or involved in the merge process. However, there are a few things that prevent class inactivation such as being used in the recurring transaction. To read how to merge classes in QuickBooks, stick to this guide till the end.

Things to Remember Before You Merge Classes in QuickBooks

If you are willing to merge classes in QuickBooks, you should keep a few things into consideration:

  • The process of merging the class is permanent. Once you merge the classes, this cannot be undone. 
  • You cannot combine more than 2 items at the same time. Also, if both the sub-items, the option to combine the items is not available.

Furthermore, you can learn about Merge Other Data in QuickBooks like Merge Two Accounts in QuickBooks, Merge Duplicate Customer Names in QuickBooks, Merge Vendors in QuickBooks.

How to Merge Classes in QuickBooks?

To merge classes in QuickBooks, you need to be sure what class name you wish to keep and which class you want to combine. Thereafter, you can pursue the following steps in QuickBooks Online and QuickBooks Desktop:

Merge Classes in QuickBooks Online

  • Navigate through the “Gear” icon.
  • Then, click on the “All Lists” option.
  • Select the “Classes” option from the list.
  • Here, you can click on the class that you are going to merge. After that, select the “Edit” button using the “Action” drop-down menu.
  • Then, you can make changes to the class name. Make sure you add the same as the first-class name.
  • Once done, click the “Save” button.
  • When prompted, click the “Yes” button.

Merge Classes in QuickBooks Desktop

  • Click on the “Lists” menu.
  • Then, choose the “Class List” option.
  • After this, click on the “Class Name” option. This should be the name you wish to keep.
  • Now, click right on the class and click on the “Edit Class” option.
  • Once done, highlight your “Class Name” and click right to choose the “Copy” option.
  • Then, click on the “Class Name” option. This should be the name you prefer to combine.
  • After this, click right on the class and choose the “Edit Class” button.
  • At this point, you can paste the copied name in the “Class Name”.
  • Once done, click on the “Save & Close” button.
  • Select the “Yes” button to confirm the action.

Similarly, you can perform the same steps for the remaining classes that you want to merge in QuickBooks. To identify if both the classes are merged, you can click right on the class and select the QuickReport option.

Caution: Merging the two items cannot be undone and all the transactions in the closed period will show up under 1 item. Also, it may affect your previous financial reports or data linked with the merged items.

How to Manage the Classes in QuickBooks?

Classes represent the significant segments in the company such as product lines or store departments. If you enable the class tracking feature, you can create the class for every segment in the business. If you are wondering how to create and manage the new class in QuickBooks, we will help you:

Add a Class in QuickBooks

  • Click on the “Settings” menu.
  • Select the “All List” option.
  • Choose the “Classes” option.
  • Click the “New” button.
  • Add a name for this class.
  • If you want to add the sub-class then click on the “Is a sub-class” option.
  • Then, choose the main class. Here, you can add up to 5 classes.
  • Once done, click the “Save” button.
  • Now, you can track the transactions by class.

Delete the Class

  • Navigate to the “Settings” menu.
  • Then, click on the “All Lists” option.
  • Choose the “Classes” option.
  • Search for the class you wish to remove.
  • Once done, click on the drop-down located next to the “Run report”.
  • Click the “Make inactive (reduces usage).

Restore the Deleted Class

  • Click on the “Settings” option.
  • Select the “All Lists” option.
  • Click the “Classes” option.
  • Choose the “Settings” icon located next to the “Print” icon.
  • Select the “Include inactive” option.
  • Here, you can select the class you wish to restore.
  • Then, click the “Make active” option.

This is how you can create, delete, and restore the deleted class in QuickBooks Online. We hope you have understood how to create and manage the classes.

To Sum Up!

Users can merge two classes in QuickBooks by editing the name of the second name. Make sure you make the class name the same as the first class. As you do so, your system will automatically recognize the existing class with the same names you want to enter. Then, it will prompt you to merge classes in QuickBooks. Here, we have already shared the procedure of merging the classes in QuickBooks. Besides that, we explained how you can create classes, manage classes, and merge other types of data in QuickBooks.

If you want to condense company files or enter a security deposit refund, check out the following guides:

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments