How to Delete QuickBooks Online Data and Start from Scratch?

How to Delete QuickBooks Online Data and Start from Scratch?

QuickBooks Online contains important information related to your company or business. However, in some instances, you might need to delete the old data and use your account from scratch. To make this happen, one has to keep the right information so that you can delete QuickBooks Online data and start from scratch.

Therefore, we are going to explain how to delete company data from QuickBooks Online based on different scenarios. Let’s get straight into this!

How to Delete All Data from QuickBooks Online and Start All Over Again?

To use QuickBooks Online account as a fresh account, you are required to delete all the company data. However, the scenarios can be different. For instance, you can delete the QBO data and use the account from scratch depending on how long you have been using your account. If the account has been active for more than 60 days, you just need to cancel the subscriptions and log in to the account again.

On the other hand, if the account has been active for less than 60 days, you can do this by changing the address. By importing the data from QuickBooks Desktop, you will also have the option to use the QBO account as a fresh account. To get into more detail, learn with us how to delete QuickBooks Online data and start from scratch based on different conditions.

Condition 1: When the Account is Older than 60 Days and Want to Start from Scratch

If you have been using your account for the last 60 or more days and you want to start all over again from scratch, you need to follow two simple steps. First, you will have to cancel your account and then start with the new one. Let’s find out how to delete all data from QuickBooks Online and start from scratch.

Step 1: Cancel the Account

To cancel your QuickBooks Online account, first, you will have to log in to that account. After that, go through the QuickBooks settings, click on your account, choose the Update Credit Card and cancel your subscription. Here are the instructions in detail for the same:

  • Browse the “QuickBooks Online” website (https://qbo.intuit.com) and log in to your account using the correct username and password.
  • Once you are logged in, go to the “Gear” icon located on the top right.
  • Now, navigate to “Your Account”.
  • Then, choose the “Update Credit Card”.
  • After this, go to the “Subscription Status” and click on the “Cancel Subscription” link.

After following these steps, you can continue following the prompts given on your screen. Now, you have learned how to delete company data from QuickBooks Online, get started with the new account.

Step 2: Start with a New Account

To get started with a new account, one has to navigate to the signup page for QuickBooks Online. Then, you can use the login credentials to access the account. Here are the details:

  • Visit the website “https://qbo.intuit.com/signup/”.
  • When you see the signup page, you can enter the user ID and password.

This should be noted that you can use the same user id and password you used for your earlier account. This option is good for those who have activated QuickBooks Payroll services in their account.

Condition 2: When the Account is Not More than 60 Days and Want to Start All Over Again

If your QuickBooks Online has been active for less than 60 days and you want to start all over again then you will just have to cancel your account and begin with the new one. However, the procedure is quite different than the one we shared above.

To learn how to delete data from QuickBooks Online and start with the new account, you will have to follow these steps:

  • Open “QuickBooks Online” on your web browser and log in with the correct user ID and password.
  • Here, you need to change the address so that you can include “/purgecompany”. So as you log in to the account, you will see the following address:
    • “http://qbo.intuit.com/c28/app/homepage”
  • At this point, you are required to change the above address to the new one. See below to see the changes in address:
    • “http://qbo.intuit.com/c28/app/purgecompany”
  • Once done, you can choose a different industry type than the one showing. Also, mark the option if you want to have an account based on the industry.
  • If required you can also start with the empty “Chart of Accounts”. It will provide five default accounts which are as follow:
    • Retained Earnings
    • Uncategorized Asset
    • Uncategorized Expense
    • Opening Balance Equity
    • Uncategorized Income
  • When you see the new screen, it will show you items that are supposed to be deleted.
  • Press the “YES” button after deleting the data and hit the “OK” button.
  • Now, select the “Wipe Data” option.

As you wipe all the data from your account, you can use the new account from the beginning. However, one has to keep this thing in mind that deleting the account will also delete the data you have entered into your company files. Remember that once all the data is deleted, this cannot be reversed or undone.

Condition 3: When the Account is Not More than 60 Days and Want to Import the Data from QuickBooks Desktop

There can be instances when the account has been active for less than 60 days and you want to import all your data from QuickBooks Desktop to the Online version. This can be done in a few simple steps. Let’s discuss these steps below:

  • Search for the “QuickBooks Online” website (https://qbo.intuit.com) and sign in to your account using the correct username and password.
  • Once you are logged in, go to the “Gear” icon located on the top right.
  • Now, select the “Import Desktop Data” option.
  • After this, you can choose the QuickBooks version and follow the on-screen prompts to import the data.

As you perform these steps, the information written into your company will be replaced with the information of QuickBooks Desktop. Please note these steps cannot be reversed once the data is removed. This is how you can delete QuickBooks Online data and start from scratch.

To Conclude

To use the QuickBooks Online account, one has to wipe the old company data and log into your account to start all over again. However, this method is not reversible. You cannot bring the data back to its place once wiped. To avoid any kind of confusion, we have shared easy steps to delete QuickBooks Online data and start from scratch. Hope you find this guide useful.

QuickBooks Online often brings errors to your account. If you are having any of the following errors, we have effective solutions.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments