QuickBooks View Only Access: How to Give Read Only Access in QuickBooks Online/Desktop?

QuickBooks View Only Access: How to Give Read Only Access in QuickBooks Online/Desktop?

QuickBooks has the functionality of changing roles for the users. View Only or Read Only is the feature using which you can allow your employees to view the document but not to edit. This can be a very helpful feature as it prevents other team members from making changes to the file without your permission. To use QuickBooks view only access functionality, you can continue reading this guide.

What is QuickBooks View Only Access?

QuickBooks view only access feature assigns the read-only function to the users. Although this feature is currently not available in QBO and desktop version, you can still set certain limitations for the employees. For instance, you can use Standard or Limited user options. These options will allow the employees to have access to only specific areas in QuickBooks company such as Suppliers & Purchases and Customers & Sales.

The process of assigning specific roles in QuickBooks Online and QuickBooks Desktop can be different. Therefore, we are going to explain the complete procedure for the same.

How to Give Read Only Access in QuickBooks Online?

As we stated earlier, you may not find the QuickBooks Online view only access, thus, we are providing other ways to limit access for your employees. Let’s know more about this:

  • Click on the “Gear” icon located on the top.
  • Then, select the “Manage Users” option from the “Your Company” section.
  • When you see the “Manage Users” window, click on the “Users” tab.
  • From here, you can click on the “Add user” option.
  • After this, mark the radio icon for the “Standard User” option. This is located in the “Select user type” section.
  • Press the “Next” button.
  • Now, you can mark the radio icon for the “Limited” option. Thereafter, you can select in which area you would like to give access to your employee for the company.
  • Once done, click on the “Next” button.
  • After that, keep pursuing the instructions given on your screens.

When you are done following these steps, the selected employees will get the email so that they can accept the invitation. Thereafter, your employees can continue to access the company file but with limitations set by you.

How to Give QuickBooks View Only Access in Desktop Version?

Since there is no specific view-only feature, QuickBooks Desktop users can give selective access to some areas in the company. Let’s find out to give QuickBooks view only access in the desktop version:

  • Click on the “Company” menu.
  • Then, select the “Set Up User and Passwords” option.
  • Now, click on the “Set Up Users” option.
  • If the user is already existing then click on the “Edit User” option. If you want to add a new user then select the “Add User” button.
  • After this, click on the “Next” button. Here, you will access roles for each user. Then, you can click on the “Selected Areas of QuickBooks” button.
  • Press the “Next” button.
  • Here, you will see the following options:
    • No Access
    • Full Access
    • Selective Access
  • From here, you need to click on the “Selective Access” option and select the sub-options.
  • After that, you can continue following the instructions given on your screen.

Once done following these steps, your employees can have selective access to the company file as set by you.

Important Note: Changing the access for your user’s role may affect other users to who you have assigned the same role. In case you wish to change access only for one user then duplicate that role, assign it to that user and then edit permissions for a duplicate role. This will prevent the need of recreating the role every time a new user is added for that role.

Functions Involving with Read-Only Access in QuickBooks

Read-only access can also be used while adding the new user to QuickBooks company. You can give permission to certain areas and for certain activities to the user. Here, we will show you how to assign specific roles to the new or existing user. Besides that, you will learn to see the roles and permission reports.

Add the New User Role

  • Click on the “Company” menu.
  • Choose the “Users” option and the “Set Up Users and Roles” option.
  • Select the “Role List” tab.
  • Click the “New” button.
  • Here, you can enter the name as well as the description for your new role.
  • After that, you can assign the “Area Access Level” for each activity and area.
  • Once done, click “OK”. This will show the new role in the “Role List”.

Please Note: In case the new role permits the users unrestricted view of the transactions that include payroll as well, it will mark it with as (*) asterisk sign.

Edit the New User Role

  • Select the “Company” menu.
  • Click on the “Users” option.
  • Select the “Set up Users and Roles” option.
  • Click on the “Role List” tab.
  • After that, highlight the role that you need to edit.
  • Now, hit the “Edit” button.

Remember: You cannot edit some roles such as External Accountant and Admin.

  • Here, you can modify the name and description as preferred.
  • When you see the “Areas and Activities” section, choose the area you wish to edit. Then, choose the specific activity.
  • Now, you can continue assigning the “Area Access Level” as required.
  • Once done, you can make changes to the areas and activities.
  • Press “OK”.
  • Users whom you have assigned the modified role will view the changes once they log in to their company file.

Display Roles and the Permission Report

  • Click on the “Company” menu.
  • Then, select the “Users” option.
  • Now, click on the “Set Up Users and Roles” option.
  • Switch to the “Role List” tab.
  • After this, click on the “View Permissions” option.
  • Here, you can highlight the role and click the “Display” button.
  • Once done, you will view the reports that display all the roles and assigned permission.

This is how you can assign roles to the users for certain areas and activities for the company file. In case you find any errors while using read-only access such as QuickBooks Online you are not authorized to see this page then you can troubleshoot the error. All you have to do is to create the portable company file or restore the portable company file. If required, you can remove the sensitive reports to avoid errors.

Summing Up

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise allows you to access view-only features. By using this feature, you can assign specific roles to the user in certain areas of your QuickBooks company. Since there is no QuickBooks view only access for online versions, you can use Standard and Limited user options to give certain roles to the employees.

If you want to record the deposits or fix the unapplied payments in QuickBooks, we have prepared curated guides for you:

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments